101 in 1001 update – January 2013

Greetings Friends. So I’m back, pretty dedicated as I’m nearing the end of this challenge. Here’s what happened in January 2013:

#11 – Take a Cooking Class – this is something I’ve always wanted to do, so I’m officially signed up, with one of my BFF’s Megan. We are scheduled for a 2/25 class and I’m looking forward to the hilarity that’s to come of this. I have a feeling we might end up like this clip from The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills (for the record, I would not be the one with the soap on the chicken):

The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills Season 2 – Soap on a Chicken – Video – Bravo TV Official Site.

#18 – Take a picture every day of a month and blog about it – so right now I’m just over halfway through my 30 day photo challenge. You see the first 10 pics here, the next 10 should be posted by the end of next week. If you have Instagram, you can follow along by searching #shannonsshenanigans30dayphoto

#54 – Try 10 New recipes – I’m sure I probably had this complete last year, but since I was lazy on a blog hiatus, I can’t quite remember what I may have made that was “new”. So a few weeks ago, I made Tomato Basil Parmesan Soup. It was fantastic. I even made my own garlic croutons (I took rolls that I had in the freezer, thawed them out, cut into cubes, and mixed with melted butter/garlic powder. Baked at 350 for 10 minutes) and they were awesome too. I’m thinking about making it again this weekend, except this time I would puree the veggies for a smooth soup. Also, I found out that the soup freezes well too, just make sure you thaw it out slowly in the refrigerator.

20130201-123717.jpg

I also tried this Santa Fe Turkey Stuffed Peppers recipe from Skinny Taste. I used the exact ingredients, however, I decided to cook it in the crock pot (chalk it up to my love affair with my crock pot). Um, it looked and tasted like dog food. Maybe next time (that is IF I try this again), I will follow the recipe exactly. It sounds like it would be good.

20130201-123608.jpg

#96 – Paint a piece of pottery to display in my house – Back on January 12th, I had a girls day out with my sister Kelly and my niece Makenzie. I had bought Makenzie a gift certificate for a local pottery place (she is quite the little artist) for Christmas with the intention of having day out with them. I painted a vase, complete with a monogram ‘M’ (because I’m obsessed with all monogrammed things) for my front hallway. Kelly painted a chocolate bunny and Makenzie made a heart trinket box. Here’s pics from the day:

20130201-123754.jpg

20130201-123708.jpg

20130201-123647.jpg

20130201-123659.jpg

20130201-123731.jpg
Any new recipes worth trying? Feel free to share!!! Take care until next time!

Leave a Reply

