Thankful Journal – Part II – 10.30.11 – 11.05.11

Well, I’m back with the second part of my Thankful Journal….As always, there’s plenty to be thankful for:

Sunday October 30, 2011 – Anniversaries – 10 years ago on this date we purchased/made settlement on our dear condo and moved from Westville & Bellmawr to Washington Twp (or Twp, or South Philly East as I call it).  I loved that place and there are times (especially since taking care of this house can be quite overwhelming) that I still wish we were there.  It’s was the best investment we may have ever made!  Cheers to 10 years in S. Philly East 🙂

Monday, October 31, 2011 – Comfort Food – there’s something about the fall and comfort food.  Since it was Halloween, normally we order a pizza and my nieces/nephews come over to go trick or treating.  They are now getting too old to hang out with Aunt Shanny, so I decided since it was a cool fall day, I’d make some homemade chili and it was delicious (please refrain from drooling on your keyboard)

Tuesday – November 1, 2011 – Doggie Snuggles – Every night it has been crazy cold in our house (thanks babes, for NOT using the heater), so I’ve been snuggling up on the couch with an old comforter and every night, both Mario and Mia are right beside me.  Such sweetness (and yes, I know they need haircuts)

Wednesday – November 2, 2011 – Fabulous Female Influences – Typically, this day is bittersweet for me.  It’s the anniversary of my mother’s death (32 years) and also Ed’s grandmother’s birthday (sadly she passed in 2003).  Instead of mourning and feeling bitter about things I have no control over, I decided that I’m going to celebrate their lives as well as all the other fabulous female influences in my life – Thanks also to my Grandmother (RIP), my sisters Kelly & Jennifer, Teresa (Mother-In-Law), Future Sis-in-Law Linda,  & of course my BFF’s Val, & Meg – you all rock!

Thursday – November 3 – Monthly Girls Night Out – At least once a month, my dear friend Megan and I go to dinner to catch up on news, etc.  Both of us have fairly busy lives and to just take one night out and go to dinner w/o the boyfriend/the babes is always refreshing (Shout to Val – We wish you were here to join us like the old days – maybe one time we’ll have “Flat Valerie” come!)

Friday – November 4, 2011 – Pandora Radio – Since my favorite radio station switched formats to a sports station (I may or may not have cried like a baby when I found out), I have yet to find a morning show to replace it.  Thankfully I have the Pandora App on my iPhone and all I had my own “Hair-Band Friday”on the drive into work.  Imagine the looks I got when I was belting out ‘Two Steps Behind” by Def Leppard (I can say it may or may not have been as bad as the time I was rapping to “Big Poppa” – along with white girl rap gestures/dancing – whoops)

Saturday – November 5, 2011 – Supporting a Great Cause – Eddie and I along with some other family members walked Purple Stride Philly to raise money for Pancreatic Cancer.  It was great to be involved in something that has directly impacted us both (I lost my grandmother, Dottie Ganly, in 1996 and Ed lost his uncle, William Venella, back in 2008).  For more information, click here.

So, what are you thankful for this week?

Leave a Reply

