Weeks 48 – 53 Update

Hi Friends…..Just looking at the dates, and I realize that I’m a whole year into this challenge (and blogging – Happy Blogiversary to me!).  Wowzer!  Here’s the up-to-date tasks completed:

#20 – Cook for a whole week; no takeout – Aaaaah, if you happened to feel the breeze on 9/17, it was actually me breathing a sigh of relief.  I admit, I’m not exactly a gourmet chef – in fact, I have a love/hate relationship with cooking.  Sometimes I love cooking, more often I love to hate cooking (if that makes any sense).  So when I decided to do this challenge, I had to put something that would be tough for me.  I mean,  a whole week w/o takeout of any kind???  Yikes!! I did it (and I’m glad it’s done – my previous attempt in January wasn’t successful!)

#37 – Have one weekend a month for an entire year without commitments – So I was down and out on 10/8 and 10/9.  I had recently had a minor dental surgery/procedure (no worries, I’m totally fine), so I thought this would be a great weekend for some R&R.  I watched some College Football (Red River Rivalry – Texas lost 😦 ), shopped, and prepped meals for the week (although my dinners were limited for a short period of time). 

#54 – Try 10 New Recipes – In my attempt to bring new foods to our dinners, I actually made three (yes, 3) new dinners during this time frame.  The first was Shepherd’s Pie (and when Ed read that it called for lamb, he almost freaked out and told me that “you Irish people sure eat weird things”).  I didn’t use lamb, I actually used ground sirloin.  The next was a dish called Spinach Ravioli Bake.  Basically, it’s frozen ravioli, layered like lasagna with spinach, cheese, and sauce.  Um, delicious.  The third was homemade chicken noodle soup – all I can say is delicious.  If you are interested, leave a comment with your e-mail address and I’ll e-mail you all the recipes.  Savor over this mouth-watering picture of my soup below (sooooo delicious!)

#88 – Have a yard sale – back on 9/17 I had a yard sale to get rid of the stuff accumulating in the basement/garage.  Didn’t do bad, made over $100 and whatever was left was donated to the local Goodwill.  The goal was whatever didn’t sell, was not, under no circumstances, coming back into the house!

# 99 Keep a journal for a month and write down 1 thing I’m thankful for each day – with Thanksgiving rapidly approaching (on 11/24), I decided that starting on 10/24 through Thanksgiving, I’d write down something I’m thankful for each day.  I figured I could turn this into a weekly post (um, please don’t hold me to that).  You all should join me in this – there has to be at least one thing you are thankful for each day, right?

Well, that’s all for now.  I’m doing a lot of brainstorming to see how I can make this blog better.  Note the following stats for the 1st year of this project (I still have about 20-21 months left):

24 tasks complete

1 failed task

11 tasks in process

Not bad, eh?  Until next time,

xoxo, Shannon

Leave a Reply

