Kitchen Update 1

Hi Friends.  Since I’m on a brief hiatus for my 101 in 1001 challenge, I thought I’d fill you in on my other big project, my kitchen renovation.  A few weeks ago, I’ve introduced you to Mary, and here’s what she looked like pre surgery:

It’s been a rocky road and we are about 1/2 way there (Cue Bon Jovi’s “Livin’ on a Prayer”………and that’s really how I feel at the moment).  I say ‘rocky road’ because I cannot live in a state of disarray at home.  I like everything neat and orderly, and right now not only is the kitchen a disaster,  but my family room is too.  I feel like I have no control and we all know how much I hate to not have control (ok so that’s a little exaggerated, but now I’m on everyone else’s time schedules, which suits me like a Justin Bieber haircut would suit Eddie – not good)!! 

Our kitchen plans included the following: (1) replace cabinets and countertop; (2) remove soffits (if possible); (3) remove popcorn ceiling and flourescent lighting – replace with a new drywall ceiling and recessed lighting; (4) paint a ‘bold’ color (and bold for me would be something that’s not brown or beige); (5) install a stone back-splash.

Here’s some pictures of the demolition (my favorite part, I love, love, love demolition!!):

Checking the soffits to see if they are necessary (and no, they weren’t)

The area of the soffits I removed (we did this prior to ordering cabinets because we weren’t sure if we could do 36″ cabinets and if you look closely at the ceiling, you can see why I wanted to replace the popcorn ceiling; we had a leak and had to cut into the ceiling, you can never fix popcorn ceilings!)

Eddie taking down some of the soffits

At this point, we thought we could safely remove the soffits without removing the cabinets.  Unfortunately, that was not the case so over the course of the following week (April 9th-16th), we packed up and removed the upper cabinets, the soffit structure, and the popcorn ceiling (we did the soffits/ceiling in a little over 3 hrs – not too shabby):

After upper cabinet removal/before ceiling and soffit removal

Ed removing the last little piece of popcorn ceiling (you have no idea how excited I am this is finally gone!!)

After a few battle wounds (i.e. a nail through my hand) and a fallen flourescent light box (which left us without lighting for a week – more on that in the next post), our kitchen looked like this:

Looks like a lot of fun, doesn’t it?  Until next time….stay tuned my friends! Oh and here’s me doing a little victory dance:

2 responses to “Kitchen Update 1

  1. woo hooo hooooooo you’re doing awesome!!!!!

Leave a Reply

