Week 6 Update

Hello friends.  I’m back for my weekly installment of my 101 in 1001 challenge.  There isn’t too much going on, I’ve been crazy busy cleaning and prepping for Thanksgiving that I haven’t had much time for anything else.  I should be back on track in no time!  Here’s the latest updates:

#13 Keep a swear jar for 2 weeks.  Every time I curse, I deposit$.25 and will donate the amount to a charity of my choosing (I’m thinking if I do this @ Christmas, I will buy toys for the ‘Toys for Tots’ program) – well, this has been the 2nd most interesting challenge so far (after the sarcasm challenge).  I’ve been very creative in my terminology and so have my co-workers .  At the end of the task, we raised a total of $30.25.  I’m excited to go shopping for the Toys for Tots program.  I lost track on how much I personally cursed (I’m guessing about half).  Special thanks to Chrissy, Karen, Jen, Rebecca, and Dawn for participating as well.  Maybe we’ll make a go of it next year!

#54 Try 10 new recipes – last week I tried Val’s Feel Better Soup.  This week I went for something different. I remember we used to have dumplings, but for the life of me I can’t remember what they were pared with (I’m thinking bean soup and ham – ewwww), nor did I know how to make them.  So I made chicken and dumplings from The Fannie Farmer Cookbook. I used 1 can of chicken broth and water to cover the chicken for more flavor (I had never made it and Eddie said it sounded “too plain”) and it was surprisingly good.  I seemed to like the dumplings the best (yes, I carb-overloaded) and Eddie enjoyed it (along with my renewed committment of cooking).

Happy Thanksgiving!!!

Leave a Reply

