Week 5 Update

Hi Friends!  I’m back with my 5th update for my 101 in 1001 Challenge.  I have to admit that it’s been a little tough over the last two weeks, and I hope to get more accomplished before the holidays, but I tend to get so wrapped up in Christmas, that everything is secondary (anyone else have this problem?)  Here’s the updated standings:

#13 Keep a swear jar for 2 weeks; every time I curse, I deposit $.25 and will donate the amount to a charity of my choosing (I am thinking if I do this @ Christmas, I will buy toys for the Toys for Tots Program) – This has been surprisingly fun.  My co-workers have also joined in on it (some when I have caught them, others have volunteered and threw in money for the ‘heck’ of it), but their donations have been paltry compared to mine.  As of 11/15, we’ve raised $16.75.  (I think about 65% of it is mine though – ouch)

#16 Refinish a piece of used furniture for the spare bedroom – shelved until after the new year; with the holidays coming up, I don’t have much time for this (who knows, I may change my mind if the mood strikes…or if I decide I want to park in the garage!!!)

#54 Try 10 new recipes – I tried my first of my 10 new recipes by making my best friend Val’s Feel Better Soup. I didn’t have turkey or stewed tomatoes so I used chicken and a 1/2 can of crushed tomatoes, and threw all the ingredients into a crock pot to cook all day (I was multi-tasking by painting the dining room).  The soup smelled  and tasted fabulous (given by Eddie’s repeat trips to the kitchen for more) and the recipe made a lot of soup!

#60 Paint Dining Room – I swore I’d never paint another wall in this house.  I guess the old phrase of “never say never” applies.  It went from a dark Peanut Butter Color to a bright hue of yellow-beige.  It looks fabulous.  Here’s a before and after picture (yes, I know it’s difficult to see the color in the before, but if you look close enough you can see it’s peanut butter-y and yes, I need to hang my wall art from my cousin Steph and my sconces I purchased from Kohls).  For anyone who is interested, the wall color is called Churchill Hotel Wheat in Eggshell Finish by Valspar.  I love it!!! 

#62 Give up Social Networking for 1 week – completed 11/10/10.  It was a bit tough and at points I wanted to log in (I guess I’m nosy) but I’m glad I completed it. I was able to relax, read, and catch up on the DVR.  I may cycle this again, just for fun (but maybe for an unplugged weekend – no computer/cell phone (barring family emergencies)/e-mail – which will help me also complete #53 Go a full day without text/e-mail/internet).

Hope you all have a great week!  Anyone else doing home projects/renovations?  I’d love to hear about them!

4 responses to “Week 5 Update

  1. Hey i really like the color of the dining room! good choice! its got an open feeling to it. i could go on and on but yes, im excited that you are putting my artwork up, that means alot to me! welll great job cuz, keep up the good work!!

    • Thanks Steph. It’s certainly a lot lighter, more airy, and the space has a more formal feel to it. I love it and wonder why I waited this long. Your art work that you did for me will compliment the room nicely – I’m getting frames for it this weekend!

  2. Looks awesome! Keep up the good work!!!

Leave a Reply

